Skip to main content

Alaska, AK

· 0 · 0 ·

This is the collection of photos from our Alaska trip.

The State of Alaska map (AK) known as the “49th State”. Alaska has 27 counties, and the capital of the State is Juneau.



The two digit state code or abbreviation of Alaska is determined by taking the ‘First and last letter of the old abbreviation’ of the State’s name. The two letter, no-period state abbreviation of AK is recommended by the U.S. Postal Service and should always be used where a ZIP code follows. The purpose of introducing the AK Abbreviation for Alaska was to make room for ZIP codes in the mailing addresses. There was no attempt to standardize the format which is why they are usually memorized.



Mike, Tina

Alaska Album